Chicken Tikka Masala – This is IT!

6 Sep

To me, a delicious bowl of Chicken Tikka Masala is perfect comfort food.  Being from California, where diversity abounds, there’s never a shortage of ethnic favorites.  In fact, I grew up in a city that proudly features its own Little Indian Town.  Imagine Chinatown, but with a neighborhood full of Indian eateries and shops instead.

Funny little fact: Chicken Tikka Masala doesn’t have any origins from India.  I was tickled to discover that the dish was actually invented in a London curry house.  Regardless of how it came about, it’s now one of the most popular dishes served up in favorite Indian restaurants everywhere.  Good thing, because some of my all time favorites are found in those restaurants.  The only bummer: though I like my new turf, really good Indian restaurants around here are few.  And the prices on those menus are double what I’m used to paying.  Hmm.  What to do?

We all know what to do.   Get on a quest to find worthy recipes that can be made at home.  Scavenge for ways to really mimic the flavors we loved in our old ‘hood.

Chicken Tikka Masala

In my quest, I have tried numerous recipes for chicken tikka masala – some recipes were more involved than others, some were fully homemade, and some were partly homemade.  But none of them really resembled the deep, rich, distinctive flavors of restaurant style chicken tikka masala.  That is…not until now.  You knew that was coming 🙂  Hubby and I agree that this is by far the best home cooked chicken tikka masala we’ve had.

Chicken Tikka Masala

Chicken Tikka Masala – easily made at home

Finally, finally a flavorful and robust chicken tikka masala that can easily be cooked up at home.  My older boys are used to different spices, and they loved this stuff.  Even the 3 year old, who doesn’t remember eating anything similar before, reached for thirds.  Cooks Illustrated, how can we applaud thee?  You are simply genius.  With a capital G.

Chicken Tikka Masala

Chicken Tikka Masala – hits the spot!

Some heavy cream aside, this dish is actually pretty healthy.  Chicken breast, a diverse array of good spices, plain yogurt, tomatoes… it’s all the good stuff!  It goes fabulously with Basmati rice.  Add a little saffron to your rice before cooking, and you’ve got the best accompaniment to your dish.  You’ll want to pour the yummy sauce all over that rice and slurp it up, right down to the last grain.

Chicken Tikka Masala

This was such a success that I’m now eager to give another favorite Indian dish a shot.  Hoping to make it as good as this one was.  By the way, there is a decent variety of spices to this Chicken Tikka Masala, and you probably don’t want to skip any of them, if at all possible.  Each spice lends a special flavor to the overall dish, with all of the individual spices melding together perfectly.  It will taste like something is missing if it’s not all there.

By the way, I do plan to put up the recipe for that grilled flatbread you see here.  It’s akin to naan, and is FAB.  Hoping to get around to that soon.  In the meantime, enjoy the tikka masala!

RECIPE (4-6)

INGREDIENTS

Chicken
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp ground coriander
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts – dried well, pounded evenly flat
1 cup plain (unsweetened) whole milk yogurt
2 TB vegetable oil
2 tsp ground ginger
1 TB ground garlic

Sauce
3 TB vegetable oil
1 onion, finely chopped
6 garlic cloves, minced
2 tsp grated fresh ginger (peeled)
1/4 tsp chili powder
2 TB garam masala
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp ground tumeric
1 TB tomato paste
1 (28 oz) can crushed tomatoes, undrained
2 tsp sugar
2/3 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
dashes of kosher salt to taste

DIRECTIONS

For the Chicken:
Combine salt, cumin, coriander, and cayenne in small bowl.  Sprinkle both sides of dry, evenly-pounded chicken with spice mixture, pressing in so mixture sticks.  Place chicken in single layer and set aside.  Whisk yogurt, oil, ginger, and garlic together in large bowl and set aside.

For the Sauce (can be made a day or two before, without chicken):
Heat oil in large heavy pot over medium heat.  Add onion and cook until golden, about 8 minutes.  Add garlic, ginger, tomato paste, and cook about 3 minutes.  Add the rest of sauce ingredients and bring to boil.  Reduce to medium low, cover, and simmer 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Lastly, stir in cream and return to simmer a few minutes.  Remove from heat and cover to keep warm.

While sauce is keeping warm, place oven rack 6 inches from heat broiler.  Dip chicken well into yogurt mixture, coating with thick layer of yogurt.  Arrange each piece on wire rack lined with aluminum foil.  Broil chicken about 5-9 minutes, flip over halfway, and broil another 5-9 minutes.  The exterior will be lightly browned in spots.

Let chicken rest 5 minutes.  Cut into bite size chunks and stir into warm sauce when ready to eat.  Do not simmer chicken in the sauce.  If sauce needs warming, warm it up first and then toss the chicken in when ready to serve.  Lastly, season with kosher salt to taste, toss in fresh cilantro, and serve immediately over Basmati rice.

By chewoutloud, adapted from Cooks Illustrated cookbook

27 Responses to “Chicken Tikka Masala – This is IT!”

  1. Star Fashion Addict September 7, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    Probably my most favorite dish to order when out for a meal. Can’t wait to try making at home, how exciting.

  2. epicureantease September 7, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    This looks fabulous!! I will be giving this recipe a try! I tried making Chicken Tikka Masala about a year ago at a friends urging. I had never had it before and it’s one of his favorite dishes. I used a recipe I found on allrecipes. I should have read the reviews. It was sooooo over the top salty!! And I’m a bit of a salt fein! It called for like 7 teaspoons of salt! Against my better judgement, I used 5 not being familiar with the dish. Needless to say, it looked and smelled delicious but was a fail in the taste department. At least we’ve had a number of laughs over it! LOL!!!

    • chewoutloud September 7, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

      Hope you have a massive success this time around! Kitchen bloopers are funny… but only after one has recovered from it, right? 😉

      • epicureantease September 17, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

        I tried this recipe tonight and it was fabulous!! Absolutely delicious! Thank you so much for sharing! No bloopers this time around. LOL!

      • chewoutloud September 19, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

        Yay!! Success 🙂

  3. Helene September 8, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    I know what I am eating for Dinner tomorrow. Thanks so much, looks insane.

  4. jordyn @ butterthantoast September 9, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    This looks awesome! I’ve been looking for a great homemade chicken curry-like dish. Now all you need is some hot and crispy naan bread to go with it!

  5. Jordyn @ butterthantoast September 9, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    This looks awesome! I’ve been looking for a homemade chicken curry-like recipe. Now all you need is some hot and crispy naan to go with it!

  6. Subtlekate September 14, 2012 at 12:49 am #

    This looks delicious. I’ve written it in my book. Thanks.

  7. Nelly September 19, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    Most amazing recipe! I made it tonight and actually felt compelled to comment on its greatness ❤

    • chewoutloud September 19, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

      Soooo glad you guys liked it! 🙂

  8. Janelle McNeil September 29, 2012 at 1:11 am #

    Thank you very much for sharing this recipe! It’s definitely a hit and you deserve great credit. Thanks, also, for stopping by my humble blog. =)

  9. Kat September 30, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    I just got an electric pressure cooker. How do I adapt this recipe to use it?

    • chewoutloud September 30, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

      I don’t own a pressure cooker, as I haven’t fully recovered from the scary memories of my dad’s old fashioned one. Heard the modern ones are less scary 🙂 Found this page for you, which is full of pressure cooker ideas, which might be helpful for you. Congrats on your new pressure cooker! http://peggyunderpressure.com/2011/01/tikka-masala/

  10. Amie November 10, 2012 at 6:03 am #

    This is maaagnificent! It tastes so authentic, a real good curry! My friend came over and were both only 17, we followed your recipe and it came out perfect! We were so proud, the creamy sauce is to die for. At first I was worried about just the can of tomatoes because it seemed that there wasn’t enough for the sauce, but after simmering for 10 minutes it flowed with juices. Thank you so much 🙂

  11. spenser November 13, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    Does your masala have curry and cinnamon in it? I always make sure to add extra of both of those two when making my own, and was curious.

    • chewoutloud November 13, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

      Hi, Spenser! Yes, it has all the ingredients of a usual “curry powder.” Curry is typically comprised of such spices and cumin, coriander, tumeric, etc. I’m sure you can go ahead and add more of whatever spices you love, and it will work for you 🙂

  12. Eli December 2, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

    Made this tonight for dinner. So, SO tasty! It wasn’t quite the same as most chicken tikka masalas that I’ve had before, but I think it was better and even more full-bodied. YUM!

    • chewoutloud December 2, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

      Yay! So happy to hear it 🙂

      • Perry February 18, 2013 at 10:06 pm #

        Real newbee on the cooking scene but this is to die for! Its as good as any curry I have had if not better! Is a lot of work but well worth it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spiced Shish Taouk « CONFETTI - September 15, 2012

    […] ginger and garlic. This marinade is actually the base of a Tikka Masala recipe that I once saw on Chew Out Loud,  but I decided to try it on shish taouk and grill them in the oven (you can definitely grill […]

  2. Chicken Tikka Masala – Take II! « epicureantease - September 17, 2012

    […] delicious!!  I highly recommend heading on over to Chew Out Loud and check out her recipe for Chicken Tikka Masala! You wont be disappointed!! Chicken Tikka Masala! Share […]

  3. Challenge #3: Chicken Tikka Masala | My Gluten Free Affair - September 24, 2012

    […] Link to Online Recipe: http://chewoutloud.com/2012/09/06/chicken-tikka-masala-this-is-it/ […]

  4. Result #3: Chicken Tikka Masala | My Gluten Free Affair - September 27, 2012

    […] Link to Online Recipe: http://chewoutloud.com/2012/09/06/chicken-tikka-masala-this-is-it/ […]

  5. Grilled Flatbread, Like Naan « chew out loud - September 28, 2012

    […] ago, I shared my favorite recipe for Chicken Tikka Masala, which was a huge hit with everyone who has tried it.  I’ve been so busy with fall that I […]

  6. Tandoori Chicken « chew out loud - November 8, 2012

    […] on my list of favorite Asian Indian dishes.  In fact, it is next in line after my all-time fave, Chicken Tikka Masala.  Tandoori chicken also a dish that traditionally requires a clay oven with the capacity to hit […]

  7. 2012 Year in Review | The Accidental Bostonian - January 21, 2013

    […] I continue to be a fan of the weekly cooking method.  I see a lot of folks with their weekly menu plans and I’m definitely impressed by the ingenuity and organization.  As a single person, though, I tend to cook a big batch of something over the weekend, and then eat it for the entire week.  In the winter time, I especially like soups and I find that these soups taste better if they sit in the fridge for an extra day or two.  I’ve published two go-to recipes that I use time and time again on this site already, and I hope to chronicle more cooking adventures in the new year.  One particular recipe from last year that comes to mind as particularly memorable was the America’s Test Kitchen version of Chicken Tikka Masala (via Chew Out Loud). […]

Leave a comment