Brownie Peanut Butter Cups, Gooey and Chewy

24 Jul

I have been searching for a home-made brownie with a twist.  Don’t get me wrong; Ghirardelli boxed brownies are a favorite in our dessert diet.  In fact, I have a happy box waiting in my pantry now.  But switching things once in awhile is fun.  If you’re reading this, you are probably a fan of the unparalleled chocolate + peanut butter combo.  Reese’s PB Cups are the one candy I cannot safely keep in my house.  I sometimes just buy them during Halloween, but only for the trick or treaters.

So, I’ve been shopping around for a home-made brownie recipe with peanut butter involved.  This is the result:

Brownie Peanut Butter Cups

Brownie Peanut Butter goodness

Wowzers, this was rich and creamy and gooey and… perfect partner to a glass of cold milk!

Brownie Peanut Butter Cups

Brownie Peanut Butter Cups – eat ’em today!

This brownie has a soft, rich interior and a moist, chewy exterior.  I must say these brownies are best eaten the same day.  I know it’s hard to imagine eating them the day you make them, but really… if you want the most chewyness and moistness, serve them while still slightly warm.  These babies will tend to get a crisper exterior the next day.  Um, they might not stick around that long anyways.

Brownie Peanut Butter cups

Brownie Peanut Butter Cups – got milk?

The recipes I found used both semi sweet and peanut butter chips sprinkled on top after baking.  Because of the richness of peanut butter and chocolate in this recipe, I used only semi sweet chips on the brownies to sprinkle on after baking.  Loads of peanut butter chips are already baked into the brownie, giving it lots of peanutty flavor.  However you choose to do it, your sweet tooth will undoubtedly be satisfied.

Brownie peanut Butter cups

Brownie Peanut Butter Cups – So hungry now.

Enjoy your chocolate + peanut butter fix.

RECIPE (12 brownies)

INGREDIENTS
3/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup regular butter, softened
1 TB water
3/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips, for melting
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup peanut butter chips
1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
1/3 cup semi sweet chocolate chips, for garnish
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 350F.  Line muffin pan with liners.  Spray liners with oil.

In large glass bowl, combine sugar, butter, and water, and microwave until butter is melted (about 1 min).
Stir in 3/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips until melted.  Mix in egg and vanilla extract.

In separate bowl, mix flour and baking soda to combine.  Add flour mixture to melted chocolate mixture, stirring until blended.  Stir in 1/2 cup peanut butter chips and 1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips.  Spoon batter by heaping tablespoonfuls into liners.

Bake 13 minutes, or until top looks set, but toothpick inserted in center comes out somewhat wet (it will set up once cooled.)  Place muffin pan on wire rack for 5-10 minutes, to allow centers to fall upon cooling.  If centers don’t fall, tap centers gently to make a hole.

While brownies are still hot, place peanut butter in microwave for 45 seconds and stir.  Spoon about a tablespoon of peanut butter into each brownie center.  Decorate with semi sweet chocolate chips.  Allow to set a little and enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Bake or Break and Very Best Baking

19 Responses to “Brownie Peanut Butter Cups, Gooey and Chewy”

  1. eatzybitzy July 24, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    gosh, these look so delicious. Need to make these 😛

  2. Geraldine July 24, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    OK, honestly, I’m looking at these and I wish I could eat one right out of the picture. Yum!!

  3. maddymakescakes July 25, 2012 at 2:22 am #

    Definitely going to try these the second we get a new oven. Shouldn’t have looked while I was so hungry!

  4. samokan July 27, 2012 at 1:47 am #

    oh sooo sinfully delicious. I am going to try it one of these days 🙂

  5. petit4chocolatier July 27, 2012 at 5:07 am #

    Magnificent! I am definitely going to try this recipe. Thank you for sharing it!

  6. cheyenne July 27, 2012 at 10:23 am #

    yuhum! i want one, right now!
    they look delicious (:
    xo, cheyenne

  7. sugarflight July 27, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

    YUM!

  8. everyvariety July 30, 2012 at 5:29 am #

    I’ll be trying these…brownie is a family fav and I’m always looking for something new.

  9. vaishk July 31, 2012 at 12:10 am #

    Oh yummmm!!! This looks soooo good!

  10. cheriblevy July 31, 2012 at 1:49 am #

    omg. I am making a Bar MItzvah in 2 weeks and I think I need to make these for the party! They are gorgeous and decadent! Thanks for this awesome idea!

  11. Dessert Duchess July 31, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    I’m so happy you stopped by my blog, now I can’t STOP looking at yours! I’m obsessed with peanut butter & chocolate, and I’m definitely trying these!

  12. newpillowbook August 14, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    Wow – I don’t know whether I feel like I need to make these NOW or like I need to hide all trace of this recipe so I never ever make them and gorge on them. They look so very good!

  13. Jessica September 13, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    the directions say 1/4 of butter? Is that 1/4 a cup or a 1/4 a stick?

    • chewoutloud September 13, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

      Oh, thank you, Jessica! I fixed that. It’s 1/4 cup 🙂

  14. Rose Taylor September 17, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

    Wonderful looking brownies! These too won’t last a day in our house. Judging from the pictures and ingredients I’d give these brownies a maximum of 2 hours in the table!

  15. tastytreats13 March 26, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

    Wow! These look great!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Yes! A nice, cakey brownie! | Eat It And Weep - August 3, 2012

    […] Brownie Peanut Butter Cups, Gooey and Chewy (chewoutloud.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:Like2 bloggers like this. Tags: Applesauce, baking, brownie, cake, chocolate, cocoa powder, dessert, food, recipe […]

  2. Peanut Butter and Jelly Muffins | chew out loud - May 28, 2013

    […] knows it’s a lunch favorite.  Most of us know it makes to-die-for desserts.  As in ooey gooey peanut butter brownie cups.  And now, peanut butter has become one of my breakfast […]

  3. Homemade Nutter Butters – Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies | chew out loud - June 3, 2013

    […] Peanut Butter Muffins for breakfast to Peanut Butter Brownie Cups for dessert, we’ve got it covered.  Peanut butter cookies are a hands-down winner around […]

Leave a Reply

